LibGuides: Literary Criticism: Wuthering Heights: Home

Feminism, Psychoanalytic Theory, Postcolonial Theory & Marxism: General Information on the Theories

Feminism: Student Resources in Context
An overview of Feminism. PW: empirelink
Feminism: New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
An in-depth overview of feminism. PW: empirelink
Freudian Theory
Clearly written, engaging introduction to personality and behavior theories and the work of psychologists and psychotherapists who developed them. Written by retired psychology professor Dr. C. George Boeree (formerly of Shippensburg Univ.).
Freudian Theory: Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Essay examining the life and work of Sigmund Freud, including critiques of Freud's theory. From the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (founded by Prof. James Fieser, Univ. of Tennessee).
Marxism: New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
An overview of Marxism from The New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, found in the Student Resources in Context database. PW: empirelink
Marxism: Political Theories for Students
An in-depth overview of Marxism. PW: empirelink
Postcolonial Theory & Literature: New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
PW: empirelink
Postcolonialism: Encyclopedia Britannica
An overview of postcolonialism.

The following 3 databases are all great resources for encyclopedia (general overview) entries on each of the four theories. Try searches like:

"postcolonial theory"

"feminist theory"

"freudian criticism"

Gale eBooks
Log in with your Harvey Gmail username and password.

Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
Britannica Academic
Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Gale In Context: High School
Log in with your Harvey Gmail username and password.

Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

JSTOR is a good place to find articles about Wuthering Heights and the four theories. Try searches like:

"Wuthering Heights" + "post-colonial" or "postcolonial"

JSTOR
Log in with your Harvey Gmail username and password.

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.